Cardiovascular Medical Devices: Haemonetics Bets on Closure

Graphic: cardiovascular medical devices Haemonetics large-bore closure strategy

Cardiovascular medical devices that close large artery punctures are becoming a competitive niche, and Haemonetics has now secured a U.S. FDA decision for PerQseal Elite, announced on 19 October 2026. The company describes it as an approval for large-bore arterial procedures and says it follows a European CE Mark in 2025 and the January 2026 acquisition of Vivasure Medical. This industry report looks at what the announcement says about the company’s strategy in cardiovascular medical devices, what is missing from the release, and what business and clinical questions come next. It is not investment advice.

Cardiovascular medical devices: key takeaways

  • Haemonetics says the FDA decision is a milestone in its strategy to bolster its presence and growth in advanced vascular closure.
  • PerQseal Elite is a bioabsorbable patch for 14F to 22F sheaths, sealing openings up to 26F, per the company.
  • The company cites 0% major complications at 30 days and hemostasis under a minute in a single-arm study.
  • No pricing, revenue expectations or launch dates were given.
  • The release calls the decision an approval and does not state the pathway; some reports say clearance.

What the cardiovascular medical devices announcement says

The Haemonetics release is dated Boston, 19 October 2026. It says the FDA decision covers large-bore arterial procedures, giving physicians a sutureless way to close the artery after structural heart and endovascular procedures performed with 14F to 22F sheaths. Chief medical officer Jan Hartmann, M.D., described the decision as an important milestone and said the device has the potential to further simplify minimally invasive procedures such as TAVR.

The strategy behind the cardiovascular medical devices push

Two earlier events frame the news, according to the release. PerQseal Elite received CE Mark approval in Europe in 2025 for arterial and venous indications, and Haemonetics acquired Vivasure Medical Limited in January 2026, which the company says expanded its large-bore closure portfolio. Put together, the sequence suggests a company building out a position in vascular closure through acquisition and then regulatory milestones. That reading is ours, and the release does not discuss terms of the deal or its financial effect.

Approval or clearance: why the wording matters

This section is our explanation. In U.S. device regulation, products can reach the market through different routes, and the words approval and clearance are often used for different ones. The Haemonetics release uses the word approval and does not name a route, while other reports have used clearance. We therefore avoid drawing conclusions from the label alone. For business readers, the route can affect the evidence required, the labelling and the timeline for later changes, so it is worth confirming against the regulator’s records when they are available.

Where the evidence stands for the cardiovascular medical devices launch

The evidence cited is the prospective, single-arm, multicenter ELITE arterial study, which reported 0% major complications through 30 days under VARC-3 criteria and a mean time to hemostasis under one minute. Professor Nicolas van Mieghem, a co-investigator at ZOL Hospital in Genk, Belgium, called the device easy to adopt and intuitive to use. Haemonetics says further clinical data will be presented at the TCT conference at the end of October 2026. A single-arm design cannot show superiority over other tools, and the release gives no patient numbers.

Business questions cardiovascular medical devices must answer

This section is our analysis. A regulatory decision opens the door, but hospital adoption usually turns on a few practical points. Does the device reduce complications or time in the procedure room enough to justify its cost? Does it fit into the workflow of heart teams and interventional cardiologists? Will payers and hospital committees treat it as a premium product or as a substitute for cheaper methods? The release says nothing on pricing or coding, so these questions cannot be answered yet, and we do not forecast sales or share performance.

What hospitals weigh in cardiovascular medical devices

General background: hospital purchasing committees generally look at clinical evidence, ease of training, the effect on procedure workflow and total cost per case. A device used in high-volume structural heart programmes must also be available reliably and supported by trained staff. None of these factors is addressed in the announcement, and we have no information on the company’s training or supply plans. Readers should look for these details in launch communications after the TCT data.

The role of structural heart procedures

General background: structural heart procedures, including TAVR, use large catheters that make closure a routine concern for operators. The release links the device to these procedures, and Hartmann’s comment that it could simplify minimally invasive procedures such as TAVR points to this setting. How large the market for large-bore closure is, and how much of it PerQseal Elite can win, are not addressed, and we have no figures to offer.

What is not disclosed

  • The regulatory pathway for the U.S. decision.
  • Pricing, reimbursement approach and launch timing.
  • Patient numbers and endpoints beyond those cited.
  • Financial terms of the Vivasure acquisition and sales expectations.

Risks and caveats on cardiovascular medical devices coverage

  • Clinical figures are the company’s and come from a single-arm study.
  • Our reading of the company’s strategy is analysis, not a company statement.
  • A regulatory decision does not guarantee commercial success.
  • This is news reporting, not investment, medical or legal advice.

In our assessment, the PerQseal Elite decision strengthens Haemonetics’ position in cardiovascular medical devices on paper, but the commercial outcome will rest on the full ELITE data, on comparisons with established closure methods and on hospital economics that the release does not address. See also Indian MedTech Acquisitions: BPL Makes a Bold Medec Move. More in our medical devices coverage. For the regulator’s general information, see the FDA medical devices pages.

What to watch next on cardiovascular medical devices

  • Full ELITE data at the TCT conference at the end of October 2026.
  • U.S. launch details, pricing and early hospital adoption.
  • Further regulatory steps, including any U.S. venous indication.

Frequently asked questions

What did Haemonetics announce?

A U.S. FDA decision for PerQseal Elite, a bioabsorbable vascular closure patch for large-bore arterial procedures, on 19 October 2026.

Is it an approval or a clearance?

The company calls it an approval. The release does not say which pathway, and some reports use the word clearance.

Where can I read more about the company?

The Haemonetics website has background on its products and the announcement.

How we reported this: we relied on the Haemonetics release of 19 October 2026 and public regulator pages. Our analysis is labelled. Last updated: 20 October 2026. This article is news reporting and not investment, medical or legal advice.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *